What are Dasharatha unknown facts

Namaste friends, how are your doing today? Bhagavan Sri Rama blessings to you and your family!

In this post a long list of Dasharatha unknown facts has been discussed as given below:

List of Dasharatha unknown facts:

1. Suryavansh / Solar Dynasty : Dasharatha is from the great vansh / lineage of Suryavansh (Suryavamsha).

2. Greatness of Suryavansh : This vansh / vamsha / lineage is so special and great, that all the kings who have come in this vamsha are having Awesome Behavior, Very Loving, Self Driven, Self-reliance, Willpower, Patience, Integrity etc.

Dasharatha with his four children, viz, Rama, Lakshmana, Bharata and Shatrughna.

3. Communication and Connection with people : That vamsha / lineage people were Communicating and Connecting with their people 24/7 & 365 days, Optimism, Self-confidence, Communicators, Expertise & Excellence, Focused, etc.

4. Positive Attitude : Positive Attitude, Perseverance, Definite Aim, High Vision, Purpose, Flexible, Masters of Time, Brave, Givers, High Self-Esteem etc. etc. etc.

5. Kings were following Dharma : And most importantly, all the Kings were very closely following the Great Sanatana Dharma and the instructions of Bhagavan Vishnu.

6. No words to explain to qualities of Kings : There are no words which can explain these great Kings qualities.

To know the full vansh / lineage of this Great Suryavamsha, you can click the below link:

What is the Suryavansh family tree

Dasharatha is one among them.

7. Dasharatha in Ramayana and Bhagavatam : Dasharatha is mainly described in the Great Hindu Epic Ramayana and and also in the Srimad Bhagavatam (Sri Vishnu Purana) as the king of a place called Koshala.

8. Dasharatha father of Bhagavan Sri Rama : Dasharatha is the father of Bhagavan Sri Rama. His capital was known as Ayodhya.

To know the greatness of Ayodhya, click the below link:

What is the real meaning of Ayodhya and it’s greatness

9. Dasharatha was the son of Aja and Indumati.

10. Dasharatha had three divine consorts, namely, Kausalya Devi, Sumitra Devi and Kaikeyi Devi.

Bhagavan Sri Rama with his consort Sita Devi, Hanuman, Lakshmana, Bharata and Shatrugna!

11. Dasharatha eldest son : Dasharatha’s eldest son is Bhagavan Rama, (of Kausalya Devi) an avatar of Bhagavan Vishnu,

12. Dasharatha second son : Second son is Lakshmana (of Sumitra Devi), an avatar of Sri Aadi Shesha Naaga. (In TV serials, movies etc. it is depicted Bharata as the second son. But as per Moola Ramayana and Valmiki Ramayana, it is Lakshmana whois the second son of Dasharatha.)

13. Dasharatha third son : Third son is Bharata (of Kaikeyi), an avatar of Bhagavan Vishnu’s Shankha (Conch) Panchajanya.

14. Dasharatha fourth son : Fourth son is Shatrughna (of Sumitra), an avatar of Bhagavan Vishnu’s Sudarshana Chakra (disc).

(Again here in the TV serials, movies etc it is depicted both Laskhmana and Shatrugna are twin children of Dasharatha and Sumitra Devi. Which is not at all given in both Moola Ramayana and Valmiki Ramayana.)

15. Chronology of Dasharatha sons birth : First son was Rama, after one year Lakshmana was born. Later after son year Bharata was born. Again after one year Shatrughna was born.

16. Sons born with a gap of one year each : This means, each son was born in the gap of one year. This is as per Moola Ramayana and Valmiki Ramayana.

Dasharatha and his consorts playing with their divine children!

17. Meaning of Dasharatha name : Now, let us under the meaning of the name Dasharatha:

Dasharatha = Dasha + ratha. Here Dasha means ten, ratha = chariot. He had complete control over all his ten indriyas, that is,

There are totally 10 Indriyas. There names are as given below:

Five pancha jnaneEndriyas:

srothra (ear),

thvak (skin),

chaksu (eye),

jihva (tongue),

aakrAna (nose)

Five pancha karmendriyas:

vAk (mouth),

pAni (hand),

pAdha (legs),

pAyu (anus),

upastha (genital)

Similarly, he had won over all the ‘dashadiks’, that is ten directions. The names of the ten diks (directions) are:

Uttara (North), Purva (East), Dakshina (South), Paschima (West), Eshanya (North-East), Agneya (South-East), Nairutya (South-West), Vayuvya (North-West).

18. Birth name of Dasharatha : The birth and original name of Dasharatha is Nemi.

Dasharatha and his family feeling the agony of Rama’s forest exile!

Birth of Bhagavan Sri Rama

Dasharatha Maharaja of Suryavamsha, did not had male child with his wives.

Thus at this juncture, Vashishtha Maharshi directs Dasharatha Maharaja, to do the ‘Putrakaamesthi’ yagna under the pourohitya (priest administration) of ‘Rushyashrunga’ (he is the son-in-law of Dasharatha Maharaja).

Then Yagna purusha deva came with the golden vessel carrying the prasadam of the homa.

Maharaja Dasharatha distributed the same to his wives.

First half of the prasadam Dasharatha gave it to Kausalya, half of the remaining, he gave it to Sumitra. Then out of the remaining quarter portion, he distributed to Sumitra and Kaikeyi.

As such, Kausalya and Kaikeyi got one portion of the paayasam (kheer), whereas Sumitra got two portions.

Bhagavan Ramachandra was born with chakra, shankha, gada and padma, wearing pitambara.

Also, Bhagavan Sri Ramachandra was wearing kireeta (crown), kundala.

As soon as Kausalya saw Bhagavan Sri Rama, he appeared as a small baby.

Sumitra got Lakshmana and Shatrugna in Ashlesha nakshatra.

Bharata was born to Kaikeyi in Pushya nakshatra.

Here Bhagavan Sri Ramachandra is saakshat paramatma (an avatar of Bhagavan Vishnu).

Sri Aadi Shesha came as Lakshmana for the seva (to serve) Bhagavan Sri Ramachandra.

Shankha Panchajanya (Conch) and Sudarshana Chakra (disc) of Bhagavan Sri Vishnu were born as Bharata and Shatrugna respectively.

Different avatars in Ramayana period

Angada – Chandra Deva

Bharatha – Kaama (pradyumnaavesha) (Shankha)

Dasharatha – Svaayambhu Manu

Hanuman – Vayudev

Jambavanta – Yama

Janaka Raja – Karmaja Devata

Kabandha – Dhanu gandarva

Kathana – Kubera

Kausalya – Shataroopa Devi

KumbhakarNa – Vijaya

Kusha – Indra

LakshmaNa – Adishesha (sankarshanaavesha)

Lava – Agni

MaaNDavi – Rati Devi

Mainda & Vividha – Ashwini Kumaras (Same as Nakula and Sahadeva in Mahabharata period).

Nala – Vishwakarma

Neela (Monkey ) – Agni

RavaNa – Jaya

Ruma (Sugreeva patni / wife) – Sanjnaadevi

Sri Sita Devi – Sri Mahalakshmi Devi

Shatrughna – Aniruddha (Aniruddhaavesha) (Sudarshana Chakra)

Sri Rama – Bhagavan Vishnu

Shrutakirti – Usha Devi

Sugriva – Surya Deva ({brahma avesha)

SushENa – VaruNa Deva

Tara (monkey) – Bruhaspati

Tara (Vali patni / wife) – Shachidevi

UrmiLa – VaaruNi

Vali – Indra

Viradha – Tumburu

To know the complete list of the avatars in Ramayana, click the below link:

Different avatars in Ramayana

To know the complete list of the avatars in Mahabharata, click the below link:

Different avatars in Mahabharata

More information will be added on regular basis. Please visit after sometime.

Dear friends, if you need any clarifications about this post, kindly let me know, I will definitely try to answer all of them.

Also your one LIKE, one COMMENT, One Share, one SUBSCRIPTION is highly important.

This will help to know the quality of this content and also it will be helpful to know if any improvements is required for the content.

If you feel this content is useful to you and has helped you to improve your knowledge, kindly share this with your well-wishers.


To receive FREE EMAIL SUBSCRIPTION about #BhagavanBhakthi, you can send an email to bhagavan.bhakthi.contact@gmail.com from your email ID.


Sri Gurubhyo Namaha

Sri Raamaaya Namaha

Sri Krishnaarpanamastu

Share in Social Media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *