What is the Hindu process of creation of universe

Namaste friends, how are you doing today? Bhagavan Sri Vishnu blessings to you and your family.

Bhagavan Sri Maha Vishnu, in his incarnation of Varaha (a boar), had liberated Prithvi (Mother Earth) from the clutches of Hiranyaksha- the mighty demon who had abducted her to rasatala.

After being rescued, Prithvi heaved a sigh of relief and looked at her savior, who was smiling. She curiously asked Bhagavan Sri Varaha – “How does the process of creation begin in the beginning of each Kalpa?”

“What is dissolution?” “How do you nurture the whole creation?” “In what order do all the four Yugas occur and how are they calculated?”

“Why do you take incarnation in each yuga?”

“All these things puzzle me a lot and I request you to enlighten me on all these subjects.”

Prithvi became so frightened by this amazing sight that she started to tremble in fear.

Bhagavan Sri Maha Vishnu then transformed his appearance and revealed his divine form to Prithvi so that she could become free from her fright.

When Prithvi saw the divine form of Bhagavan Sri Vishnu, who was in his meditative sleep taking rest on Sheshnaga, all her fear vanished immediately.

She was extremely pleased to see the divine appearance of Bhagavan Sri Maha Vishnu and thanked her good fortune.

Prithvi, filled with extreme devotion eulogized Bhagavan Sri Maha Vishnu.

In the beginning of creation, Ego (ahankar) as well as the five basic elements – aakaasha / space, jala / water, bhumi / earth, vayu / air and agni / fire manifest themselves from the supreme Almighty (Bhagavan Sri Maha Vishnu).

Subsequently, the great element – mahattatva, nature and collective consciousness manifest themselves.

The collective consciousness then combines with each of the three basic qualities-satva (pure), rajas (demonic) and tamas (dark) and exits in three different states.

It’s combination with the dark quality results into the manifestation of Mahadbrahma which is also called prakruti or nature by the enlightened ones.

Kshetragya is considered to be more superior than the Prakruti.

This way the different permutations and combinations of all the three gunas with collective intelligence result into the creation of different “tanmaatras” (subtle form of matters).

From the tanmaatras are created the “Indrias” or sense organs takes place.

This is the way how the Universe comes into existence.

I (Bhagavan Sri Maha Vishnu) then create all the living creatures with the help of five basic elements.

Then, I Created you (earth) to provide base to all the living creatures. The combination of earth and water resulted into an “Egg” (anda).

As the egg grew in size, I manifested myself as Narayana within it.

During each kalpa a lotus manifests itself from my navel upon which is seated will be Sri Chatur Mukha Brahma Deva.

(We should note that in each Kalpa, a new Sri Chatur Mukha Bhrama Deva will born from the navel of Bhagavan Sri Maha Vishnu).

I then instruct Sri Chatur Mukha Brahma Deva to commence creation.

In spite of all his efforts, Sri Chatur Mukha Brahma Deva does not succeed in commencing his creation.

As a result he becomes furious and from his fury manifests a divine child who starts to wail incessantly.

The divine child is none other than Rudra Deva (later he will be called as Lord Shiva) who is requested by Sri Chatur Mukha Brahma Deva to begin creation, but the child being incapable of doing that decides to acquire power by doing penance and enters into deep water.

The manifestation of Prajapati and his consort marks the beginning of copulative creation and thus Swayambhuva Manu is born.

This is the way how creation takes place in each kalpa.

At the end of the last kalpa, when the whole universe was engulfed in darkness, Narayana (Bhagavan Sri Vishnu) goes into his yogic-sleep.

After waking up, he found the world devoid of any creature.

Narayana, being the supreme Almighty-the creator, the nurturer as well as the annihilator, decided to commence creation again.

The term Narayana means one who has his abode in the water – nara means water and ayana means abode.

First of all five types of “avidya” (false knowledge) manifested from Narayana – tamas (darkness), moha (attachment), mahamoha (absolute attachment), tamisra (jealousy) and andhatamisra (anger).

After the manifestation of these five “avidyas”, came into existence immovable things like mountains, trees etc.

These being the primary creations came to be known as “mukhya sarga” (main creation).

Continuing with his creations, Sri Chatur Mukha Brahma Deva created species that were superior to the earlier creation-animals. This particular creation was called “Tiryaksrota” (quadruped).

This way Sri Chatur Mukha Brahma Deva did his creation.

Sri Chatur Mukha Brahma Deva’s sixth creation was called Satvik sarga which consisted of the deities who were all virtuous by nature.

The creation of human beings was seventh in order and was known as “Arvaaksrota sarga”.

Even human beings were of three types – those who were predominantly virtuous possessed satva guna had radiant personality and never experienced sorrow, but those who possessed rajas and tamas gunas experienced sorrows as per their earlier Karmas.

The ninth creation of Sri Chatur Mukha Brahma Deva was called “Kaumara sarga” (creation of adolescent beings).

So, these are the nine main types of creation through which Sri Chatur Mukha Brahma Deva creates.

First of all Rudra and other deities manifested themselves and then came into being eternal adolescents like Sanaka, Sanandana, Sanatana, Sanata Kumara etc.

Subsequently, all the ten manasputras of Sri Chatur Mukha Brahma Deva manifested themselves – Marichi, Angira, Atri, Pulaha, Kratu, Pulasya, Pracheta, Bhrigu, Narada and Vashishtha.

At the orders of Sri Chatur Mukha Brahma Deva, Sri Rudra Deva dismembered his female part resulting into the creation of two distinct forms – one male and the other female.

Later on, ten more Rudras manifested from the male form and all of them collectively came to be known as ‘Ekadashi Rudras’ / ‘Eleven Rudras’.

PS: This will continue, please visit after some time.

Dear friends, if you need any clarifications about this post, kindly let me know, I will definitely try to answer all of them.

Also your one LIKE, one COMMENT, One Share, one SUBSCRIPTION is highly important.

This will help to know the quality of this content and also it will be helpful to know if any improvements is required for the content.

If you feel this content is useful to you and has helped you to improve your knowledge, kindly share this with your well-wishers.


To receive FREE EMAIL SUBSCRIPTION about #BhagavanBhakthi, you can send an email to [email protected] from your email ID.


Sri Gurubhyo Namaha

Sri Krishnaaya Namaha

Sri Krishnaarpanamastu

Share in Social Media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *