What are Aranyakas, different Aranyakas names (information) (meaning) (importance) (significance)

Namaste friends, how are you doing today? Welcome to #BhagavanBhakthi website / blog.

Bhagavan Lord Sri Krishna (Vishnu) (Rama) blessings to you and your family!

In this website / blog, you will always learn about #Hinduism #Sanskrit language.

Also subscribe to my YouTube channel from this link #BhagavanBhakthi to view videos about #Hinduism #Sanskrit language.

Just before going to “What are Aranyakas, different Aranyakas names (information) (meaning) (importance) (significance)“, let us know a brief, basic and very important information.

Hindu texts (scriptures) (Granthas) (Holy books) (treatise) are the manuscripts which are vast ancient composition literature.

These are authenticatively associated to the diverse traditions within Sanatana Dharma (Hinduism).

These authentic texts (scriptures) (Granthas) (Holy books) (treatise) of Sanatana Dharma (Hinduism) were written by Lord Sri Vishnu himself.

And few of them were composed by other Rishis and Devatas (Demigods) as per instructions of Lord Sri Vishnu.

The Hindu texts (scriptures) (Granthas) (Holy books) (treatise) are divided into Shrutis (that can be heard) and Smritis (that can be recalled or remembered).

In this post (article), you can get the knowledge about the Aranyakas, different Aranyakas names with basic information and meaning.

Aranyakas : In Sanskrit it is written as आरण्यक (āraṇyaka). Aranyaka (āraṇyaka) is derived from the Sanskrit word Aranya (अरण्य) (araṇya).

Since it is derived from the Sanskrit word Aranya (अरण्य) (araṇya), it is called as Aranyaka (āraṇyaka).

In Sanskrit Aranyaka (āraṇyaka) means “something produced or belongs or born or started or inside a forest“.

The Aranyakas (āraṇyaka) are the part of the ancient Indian Vedas concerned with the meaning of ritual sacrifice.

Aranyakas (āraṇyaka) basically typically represent the later sections of the Vedas, and are one of many layers of the Hindu Vedic texts.

Aranyakas (āraṇyaka) are typically identified as कर्मकाण्ड (Karma Kanda), that is, basically these texts are used in daily ritualistic or sacrificial works.

And on the other hand, the Upanishads are typically identified as ज्ञानकाण्ड (Jnana / Gyan Kanda), that is, basically these texts are used in knowledge or spiritual works.

Different Aranyakas (āraṇyaka) names are as given here : Aitareya Aranyaka, Sankhyayana Aranyaka, Taittiriya Aranyaka, Brihad Aranyaka, Katha Aranyaka.

Aranyakas (āraṇyaka) basic meaning (information) is as given below:

1. Aitareya Aranyaka : In Sanskrit it is written as ऐतरेय आरण्यक (ētareya āraṇyaka).

This Aitareya Aranyaka was written by Aitareya Mahidasa, that is, an avatar of Lord Sri Vishnu himself.

Aitaraya Aranyaka includes the information about Maha Vrata, Prana Vidya, (life-breath of a living body), etc.

2. Sankhyayana Aranyaka : In Sanskrit it is written as सान्ख्यायन आरण्यक (sāṅkhyāyana āraṇyaka).

This Aranyaka contents in the Maha Vrata, Prana, Agnihotra ritual, results of prayer, etc. This is also called as Kaushitaki Aranyaka.

3. Taittiriya Aranyaka : In Sanskrit it is written as तैत्तिरीय आरण्यक (taittiriya āraṇyaka).

This Aranyaka discusses about the eight Kathaka sections and mostly deal with varieties of the Agnicayana ritual.

4. Brihad Aranyaka : In Sanskrit it is written as बृहद् आरण्यक (br̥had āraṇyaka).

This Aranyaka is similar to  Taittiriya Aranyaka and Katha Aranyaka and it deals with the Parvargya ritual.

5. Katha Aranyaka : In Sanskrit it is written as कठ आरण्यक (kaṭha āraṇyaka). The Katha Aranyaka is fairly similar to the text of the Taittiriyas.

More information will be added to his post (article) on regular basis. Please visit again to know the updated information after some time.

To watch videos on #Hinduism #Sanskrit language, SUBSCRIBE to my YouTube channel from this below link:

#BhagavanBhakthi YouTube channel

To know more about “Vedas information, facts, significance, means, etc.“, please click the below link:

Vedas information, facts, significance, importance, meaning, etc.

Continue reading about “List of Hindu texts names (With basic information) (scriptures) (Granthas) (Holy Books) (treatise)” from these below links:

List of Hindu texts names – Part 1 of 4 (With basic information)

Dear friends, if you need any clarifications about this post, kindly let me know, I will definitely try to answer all of them.

Also your one LIKE, one COMMENT, One Share, one SUBSCRIPTION is highly important.

This will help to know the quality of this content and also it will be helpful to know if any improvements is required for the content.

If you feel this content is useful to you and has helped you to improve your knowledge, kindly share this with your well-wishers. Because “SHARING MEANS CARING”.

To receive FREE EMAIL SUBSCRIPTION about #BhagavanBhakthi, you can send an email to [email protected] from your email ID.


Sri Gurubhyo namaha

Om Sri Krishnaaya namaha

Sri Krishnaarpanamastu

Share in Social Media


  • Whetsel

    wonderful post, very informative. I wonder why the other specialists of this sector do not notice this. You must continue your writing. I’m sure, you have a huge readers’ base already!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *