Do Goddess Lakshmi also change like Brahma, Indra in every Kalpa?

Namaste friends, how are you doing today? Bhagavan Sri Vishnu and Goddess Sri Maha Lakhsmi Devi blessings to you and your family!

Just moving forward to know about “Do Lakshmi Devi also change like Brahma, Indra in every Kalpa?”, let us have a small brief about both Bhagavan Sri Vishnu and Bhagavati Sri Maha Lakshmi Devi.

Bhagavati Sri Maha Lakshmi Devi is the divine consort of Bhagavan Sri Vishnu. Sri Maha Lakshmi Devi in Sanskrit is written as लक्ष्मी / Lakṣmī. Lakshmi means ‘she is someone who leads to one’s goal’ (Laksha + me = goal + I am).

Many of us might know that Sri Maha Lakshmi Devi goddess of ‘aishwarya’, that is divine wealth, divine fortune, divine love, divine beauty, divine joy, divine prosperity etc. and also Sri Maha Lakshmi Devi is also associated with Maya (Illusion).

Among the ‘Tri Devis’, Sri Maha Lakshmi Devi is first in hierarchy (She is just after Bhagavan Sri Vishnu). The other two Devis are Sri Sarasvati Devi and Sri Parvati Devi.

Sri Lakshmi Narayana vivaha / marriage

Whenever Bhagavan Sri Vishnu takes avatar on earth, Sri Maha Lakshmi Devi too takes avatar to do seva (serve) of Bhagavan Sri Vishnu. For example with Sri Rama as Sita Devi, Sri Krishna as Sri Rukmini Devi etc.

Like Sri Brahma Deva’s padavi / position and Indra Deva’s padavi / position, Lakshmi Devi is not having a padavi / position.

From unknown grand infinite years and until grand infinite years, Sri Hari’s consort will be only one, that is, Sri Maha Lakshmi Devi.

Padavi / position is given to jeevaatmas only. Lakshmi Devi is not considered in the midst of jeevaatmas. Lakshmi Devi is the chetana / power that belongs in Ishakoti.

Sri Maha Lakshmi Devi performs the service of the Supreme Bhagavan through infinite posterities like Sri, Bhu and Durga.

All these three (Sri, Bhu and Durya) are the roopas / forma of Sri Maha Lakshmi Devi herself.

‘Sri’ meand Sridevi, ‘Bhu’ means someone who is also called as ‘Dharaa Devi’ (Read as Dharaa and not as Dhaara). Durga is also another form of Sri Maha Lakshmi Devi.

Sattva guna abhimani LaxmI roopa is called ‘Sri’. LaxmI being all auspicious – is called Sri. During pralaya, pralayodaya Laxmi exists as ‘Sri’.

RajO guna abhimani LaxmI roopa is called ‘Bhu’. During pralaya Bhu Devi exists as vaTa patra (Banyan leaf) and serves Paramatma Sri Hari.

TamO guna Abhimani Laxmi roopa is called ‘Durga’ and she exists as darkness during pralaya.

Since Sri Lakshmi Devi is satva-rajO-tamO guna abhimani, she is referred as ‘triguna abhimani’.

Paramatma Sri Hari is the ‘niyamaka’ (controller) of other infinite roopas (forms) of Sri Maha Lakshmi Devi too, apart from being niyamaka for the three roopas / forms of Sri-Bhu-Durga.

Sri Hari plays about in her manas (Divine mind) and pleases her all the time and he is doing this since ‘aadi kalam’ (Grand unknown age). Paramatma Sri Hari is therefore described as ‘Sridhara Durga Manorama’.

Here ‘Sridhara Durga Manorama’ means:

Bhagavan Sri Hari is the holder (dhara) of Sri (Maha Lakshmi Devi) in his ‘vakshashtala’ (chest) since grand unknown age in the three different forms, that is, first is ‘Sri’, second is ‘Dhara’ and third is ‘Durga’. And Bhagavan Sri Hari divinely pleases (Manorama) Sri Maha Lakshmi Devi in her all the above said three forms.

This is happening since the ‘aadi kalam’ (Grand unknown age) and will continue until the ‘ananta kalam’ (Grand infinite period).

Maha Lakshmi Devi is the only one who is the main consort of the Supreme Bhagavan, that is Sri Hari.

In addition to Maha Lakshmi Devi, the Paramatma Lord Vishnu has several consorts. Like, during the Varaha Avatar, Bhagavan Sri Varaha swamy / Sri Hari marries Sri Bhoodevi.

The Bhoomi / earth where we live is having an abhimaani Devata called Sri Bhoodevi. This Sri Bhoodevi is one of the consorts of Sri Hari.

Maha Lakshmi also having the form of Sri Bhoodevi. Bhoodevi’s name is derived from Maha Lakshmi Devi, as Bhoodevi is having the sannidaana of svayam Maha Lakshmi Devi and also Bhoodevi is one of the roopa of Maha Lakshmi Devi. (But Bhoodevi is not Goddess Lakshmi).

Similarly, in the Krishna avatar, six Devis, namely, Jambavati, Neela, Bhadra, Kalindi, Mitravinda and Lakshana, becomes the consorts of the Supreme Bhagavan Sri Hari / Sri Krishna. (All these Lord Krishna consorts are not Goddess Lakshmi).

We should note that Sri Satyabhama Devi is also one of the avatars of Sri Maha Lakshmi Devi, just like the Sri Rukmini Devi.

This means, both Sri Rukmini Devi and Sri Satyabhama Devi are one and the same, but having two different human forms. 

This is done so as to teach the common people the lessons on how to be a good husband wife.

The Bhoodevi, and Shanmahishis (here Shanmahishis means – Shan means six and mahishis means consorts, that is Jambavati, Neela, Bhadra, Kalindi, Mitravinda and Lakshana) are the consorts of the Supreme Bhagavan Sri Hari / Sri Krishna. 

All these consorts change in every Kalpa. That is, during the pralaya all will get the supreme mukti / moksha. 

Then, to that padavi / position, other Devis of the same group will become the consorts of the Sri Hari.

To know more information about the different consorts and children of Sri Krishna, you can visit my another post link:

Sri Krishna wives and children names

To know more information about “What are Goddess Lakshmi names in different avatars along with Lord Hari’s names”, visit my another post link:

List of Goddess Lakshmi avatars (names)

Dear friends, if you need any clarifications about this post, kindly let me know, I will definitely try to answer all of them.

Also your one LIKE, one COMMENT, One Share, one SUBSCRIPTION is highly important.

This will help to know the quality of this content and also it will be helpful to know if any improvements is required for the content.

If you feel this content is useful to you and has helped you to improve your knowledge, kindly share this with your well-wishers.


For receive FREE EMAIL SUBSCRIPTION about #BhagavanBhakthi, you can send an email to from your email ID.


Sri Gurubhyo namaha

Sri Krishnaaya namaha

Sri Krishnaarpanamastu

Share in Social Media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *